11.5. Aborting Transits

$Id: 1dfbc4b2ababf33d8ee860bfa4688b45ae91bd60 $

Caution

Under certain circumstances aborting transit may be required, but it effectively cancels the previous check in. Aborting transit may affect data integrity or affect the accuracy of statistics. Sitka Support strongly suggests libraries be cautious with this function. The general guideline is that the sending libraries may abort a transit before sending out items, while receiving libraries never abort a transit but check them in instead.

Aborting a transit from within the Transit List screen.

  1. From the Transit List screen select the transit(s) you wish to cancel

  2. Select Actions for Selected TransitsAbort Transits.

  3. The transit is cancelled. It will still display in the list, but if you re-click Retrieve Transits the screen will be refreshed and the item will no longer display as a transit, and the item will l have a status of Canceled Transit if it had been "In transit" “Lost” or “Checked out” before. Items with any other prior status will return to the status they were in before they were sent into transit.

    Items in Canceled Transit status must be checked in (you can run a report periodically to check for items in this status).

Cancelling a Transit at Checkout

If an item with status of In transit is to be checked out, you can override the block by clicking Abort Transit then Checkout.

In Transit by Mis-scanning

Sometimes mis-scanning happens when you check in an item. Occasionally the mis-captured barcode number happens to be a valid item of another library. This sends the item in transit in error. To correct these mistakes, libraries need to regularly access their Transit List and abort the invalid transits.

It is good practice for libraries to inform the owning library if an item is in Canceled Transit status after you abort the transit.

Copyright © 2008-2012, BC Libraries Cooperative