16.8. Deleting holdings

$Id: 0665e85ed393762c719f459bf2e3aaf5c6e0c906 $

Sitka Snippet Video - Delete Copies Via Item Status (3:35)

Sitka Snippet Video - Delete Copies Via Copy Buckets (3:20)

When adding items to the catalogue, you need to have a bibliographic record first, then you create a volume and copy record. When you delete holdings you need to follow the reverse order. You need to delete copy records first. By design and Sitka's configuration, Evergreen will also attempt to delete the volume and bibliographic record. These records will be deleted if they are not used by other copies/volumes. If you delete your library's last copy, the volume record will be deleted together with the copy. If this is also the last copy for the title (no other libraries have a copy), the bibliographic record will be deleted, too. So for most cases, you just need to delete the copy records only. If possible, Evergreen will delete the volume and bibligraphic records automatically. Occasionally you may want to delete an "orphan" volume (without any copy) or bibliographic (without any volume) record.

Deleting copy records

If you have the item in hand, the quickest way to delete an item is to scan the item into Item Status screen, accessible a couple of ways.

  1. Select SearchSearch for copies by Barcode, or select CataloguingDisplay Item (B), as shown here. Alternatively, press F5 on your keyboard.

  2. Select the item (s) and choose Actions for CataloguersDelete Items.

  3. Click OK.

  4. In this example the alert for last copy is configured. Make appropriate choice based on workflow.

  5. Click OK. Item, volume and MARC record are all deleted in this example, because there was only one copy and volume record attached to this MARC record.

You may also delete copy records from the Holdings Maintenance view.

  1. Find the title on the catalogue and display it on record details screen by clicking the title link on the result list.

  2. Select Actions for this RecordHoldings Maintenance

  3. Click on your item barcode row and select Actions for Selected RowsDelete Items. Note that in this example there are 11 consortial items attached to this MARC record.

  4. Confirm deletion at prompt by clicking Delete. Item is deleted. In this case your library’s volume record is also deleted, as Evergreen has been configured to do so. This Sitka wide setting helps keep the consortial database free of orphaned volume records. The MARC record, with other consortial holdings, is left intact.

Tip

If the item being deleted is the sole copy on this MARC record, the volume and MARC record will be automatically deleted as explained above. If you have Evergreen configured to alert on last copy, Alert on empty bib records, the alert would be presented. The alert and the effect of deleting the sole copy on a MARC record are not affected by how you delete the last copy.

You may also delete copy records by utilizing buckets. The advantage to this method is that you can keep a record of items deleted by not emptying or deleting the bucket. Please see Section 18.2, “Working with Copies in a bucket” for more information.

It is Sitka best practice to review status and owning library of items to be deleted. Co-op support recommends you do this by configuring the column picker, see Column picker, to display status field and owning library field. If an item is not in an ideal state for deleting, for example checked out, you should not delete the item until that status is resolved. Mis-scans can result in another library's item presented on your screen. Confirming owning library is correct will prevent errors. Careful review of your screen for duplicate scans is also recommended.

Transferring your last copy on a bibliographic record to another volume record on a different bibliographic record will also automatically delete your original volume record, due to the Sitka wide configuration mentioned above. If your volume and copy were the last holdings attached to the original bibliographic record, the bibliographic record is also deleted upon item transferring.

Delete a volume record without copies attached

Occasionally you may want to delete a volume record without copies attached to it. For example, you may have created a volume record, but did not add a copy to it. To delete it, you need to find the title. Go to Holdings Maintenance. Highlight the "orphan" volume record, select Actions for Selected RowsDelete Volumes. If this is the last volume, the bibliographic record will be deleted, too.

Delete a bibliographic record without volume/copy attached

You may have created/imported a MARC record, but did not use it for your copy. In such a scenario you may delete the record. Find the title on the catalogue, select Actions for This RecordDelete Record. The record will be deleted.

If you do not see any copies under the record, but are prompted that the record can not be deleted, very likely there are "orphan" volume records still under the title. You need to go to Holdings Maintenance to locate and delete the volume records. The MARC record will be deleted when you delete the last volume.

Tip

Deleted MARC records can be retrieved and undeleted if you know the record's database id. Go to the dropdown menu CataloguingRetrieve Title via Database ID. Type in the record id. Once the record is displayed (with red coloured background), select Actions for This RecordUndelete Record to undelete it.

Co-op support regularly cleans up volume records without copies and bibliographic records without copies or volumes.

Copyright © 2008-2012, BC Libraries Cooperative